Nico Tirado of The iDentity Clothing Co. Interview!

          Nico Tirado  is like my little brother. I have known him since he was about 10 years old. He is a remarkable young man and has a very keen mind for business. He is 18 now and has been running his own company since he was 11 years old! His company was originally named iDentity Clothing but has been renamed  The iDentity Clothing Co. He has been running his own company for 7 years now and not only is he constantly adding fresh new ideas to his garment line, now he is also incorporating a custom garment service as well which includes embroidery, screen printing, heat transfer, sign services and other promotional products. Is it safe to call him a mini-mogul yet?

227_Nico_H_M_

SUAS: What’s up Nico, I heard that you have had skates on your feet since you were 4! Can you give us a quick bio on your skating background?                                                                                                                                         Nico: Yep, been on wheels most my life. When I was younger there wasn’t even any thought process behind sk8n, it was like a natural thing like walking. I started sk8n around my house, then in sk8n rinks and after I discovered agressive sk8n my moms got me some sk8s. I started to hit up the parks and from there I met someone from my area that skated and then I started street skating.  

SUAS: I think that you may have been one of the youngest if not the youngest skater with his own company “The iDentity Clothing Co.”. How old were you when you started the company & what inspired you to create your own brand?                                                                                                                                           Nico: I was 11 when we started things off. What made me want to start my own was the way I saw my mom help people start there own shit up. I had the idea and I wanted to get it out there. 
 

SUAS: You had some high-profile skaters wearing your clothing in the past such as Mike Johnson, Vinny Minton & Jon Morciglio. Who is on the Pro / Am iDentity team now?                                               Nico:Pro: Jon Morciglio, Mike Hazard, Steve Nichols, Tim Franken and Jimmy Hake AM: Kevin Lebron and Sam Houston  Flow: Marcus Lowery

a

iD Life Skull tee graphic

SUAS: The iDentity Clothing Co. has come out with dog tags, shirts, hoodies, beanies, hats, custom clothing…what are you working on next?                                                                                                                                      Nico: As of right now I am workin on shirts mainly inspired by my religion Lucumi. It has a lot of artistic things behind it so I’m making the design based on it and printing them myself.

SUAS: Interesting, how did you come across the religion of “Lucumi”?
Nico: Well, reading on my history it came to the Caribbean through the slave trade so learning my history it came clear to me that I belong in this tradition.

SUAS: Knowledge is the key. iD offers good opportunities for artists in the rolling industry to create designs for your company. If one has an interest in designing for you how should they go about doing it?                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Nico: Well, you can hit us up at nico1191@hotmail.com or if your in the area come by the shop with your work and we’ll check it out. 

400_Angel_1_Blk_Tee

iD Angel Life 1 tee graphic

SUAS: I am proud to hear that you now have your own storefront adjacent from Spoild Bratt Sk8shop. How is that going so far and who is running that?                                                                                                                                                                                                                             Nico: It’s going good we mostly doing orders for other people but we’re always busy so we’re doin good and Tee runs it. I’m in there during the week from time to time.

SUAS: What are your plans for iD in the upcoming year?                                                                                                     Nico: New designs, new products and planning a graphics contest.

SUAS: Can you give us a sneak peek on what the graphics contest will be and what the winner would get? 
Nico: The contest will be the best design for apparel and the prize is undecided as for now. 

360_EATSLEEPROLL

Eat Sleep Roll tee graphic

SUAS: You have a big scar on your elbow from surgery from the time you destroyed your growth plate after a bad fall. How is that healing up and are you back to skating all the time again?   Nico: It’s pretty much the way its gunna be if I don’t get another surgery, which is limited movement. I can’t move it past a certain spot in my arm. As far as skating, its rarely that I skate, every now and then I put em on.  

SUAS: After a good skating session how many Amboy hot wings can you eat in 1 sitting?   Nico: Lol, not as much as I used to but a good 12 is good for me. 

SUAS: You slipping Nico,I got you beat on the Amboy Wings! Any shout outs and thank you’s?   Nico: Shout outs to everyone on the team, Matt Donald out in Canada to Felix Guzman to Ramelle Knight, Sam Williams. Shout outs to LU-tang, to all the Kennedy’s and Crown Chicken’s and to anyone who likes and reps iDentity, also No thanks to Stephanie Stackerman. Check out The iDentity Clothing Co. www.identityclothing.net

photo

Amboy hot wings are the BEST!

4 Responses to “Nico Tirado of The iDentity Clothing Co. Interview!”

  1. That’s my boy! Nice job B!

  2. props to EL NiCO!! saludos!!

  3. fast eddie Says:

    I enjoyed learning about this company, and also about Santería. It is an interesting religion, even if it’s not for me.

    Some constructive criticism would be to spell check the interview, and drop the use of “sk8n”.

    Also, I would like to see more images of the artwork, and it would be nice to be able to click on the images you have in the interview and get a bigger view so the detail in the artwork can be seen better. I see that a link to the website is provided, but people are lazy so anticipate that they will not click the link.

    Great stuff overall, and I’ll be watching what you come out with in the future 🙂

    Be-Mag represent!

Leave a Reply

