Be-Mag’s “Catching Up With Lord Brian”

          Recently Ben Murphy ( Be-Mag Online Editor-In-Chief ) and I linked up for this “Catching Up With Lord Brian” Interview. Check it out and enjoy www.be-mag.com

Below is the full interview transcript for the lazy folks that don’t want to click on the link…work those fingers!

          Brian Perry, a.k.a. “Lord Brian,” has been involved behind-the-scenes with rollerblading for over a decade. Those who know him know that his dedication to the promotion of our sport and lifestyle has helped many companies evolve, as well as added quite a bit to the NYC scene over the years. Brian is one of those silent guys in the industry who you don’t see, but who makes the connections for companies and the sport to grow. He is now busy out in California with a family and a new website, ShutupandSKATE. We’re not sure if anyone’s done a major interview with Brian so we thought it should be done. -B

YOU’VE BEEN INVOLVED IN ROLLING FOR AWHILE NOW, WHAT ARE YOU UP TO NOWADAYS?
LB:
2010 has marked my 17th year involved in rollerblading and I wouldn’t trade those years for anything else. I just hope my body will keep me going for another 17 years…and even more! Nowadays, I’m enjoying fatherhood while continuing to do my part in spreading rollerblading to those still in the dark.

GIVE FOLKS SOME HISTORY OF WHAT YOU’VE BEEN INVOLVED WITH IN THE PAST; B UNIQUE, ETC.
LB:
Wow, you just opened the flood gates of my memories! I’ve been involved in a lot so I’ll try to keep it brief:
– 12+ years of skatepark design & construction.
– 12+ years of in-line instruction all ages (recreation & aggressive).
– Marketing and/or grassroots advertising for companies such as B.Unique&Co., Valo, and most recently Vibralux, whether AJ likes it or not 😉
– Designed logos for companies such as Osbee, City Sk8, & iDentity Clothing.
– Provided many grassroots contests across the U.S. with products for prizes from rollerblading’s top companies.
– Contacting companies and getting their products into emerging skateshops.
– Helping out with product design for companies by doing product testing to help create an improved final product.
– Judging contests such as the Bitter Cold Showdown, Steel Valley Meltdown, King Of The Street, East Coast True Street, Last Man Standing and many more…
Ok, I think I listed it all in one shot, haha!

YOU’RE OUT IN CALI NOW, BUT YOU’RE DEFINITELY FROM NYC. WITH CREATE ORIGINALS, ART OF ROLLING, I ROLL NY, ETC. THERE’S BEEN A LOT GOING ON THIS YEAR! IS NYC FINALLY REESTABLISHING ITSELF?
LB:
The NYC rollerblading scene is definitely back ten-fold but in actuality it hadn’t really gone anywhere; it’s just that now it’s more unified than ever. The skaters out there are representing rollerblading to the fullest and it shows exactly why NYC is the capital of street skating (I know I may have to dodge a few bullets for saying that, but it’s true!). In 2009 particularly, NYC has definitely re-established Itself as a force in rollerblading once again but like I said before, the scene was always there… Now, we just have way more amazing dedicated people such as I Roll NY, Art Of Rolling, Skeptic Media, Evotek Media, Wheels In Motion, Create Originals and many more documenting the growth and showcasing it to the masses. Just look at the edits and the comps that came out in 2009 to see the proof in the pudding.

HOW’S CALI BEEN TREATING YOU SO FAR? YOU EVER MOVING BACK TO COLD NY?
LB:
Cali has been spoiling me with the 365 days of sunshine, but I need my seasons back! A move back home to NYC is in the works and may be coming sooner than you think! Don’t be surprised if you see me pop up at a Let’s Roll NY session or one of the upcoming Last Man Standing comps 😉

SO, GIVE THE LOWDOWN ON SHUT UP AND SKATE.
LB:
ShutupandSKATE is my personal rolling blog that is run by me and my iPhone ever since my laptop screen blew out. It was something that I always wanted to put together, so I stopped procrastinating and got it running full speed ahead. And just to clear some things up, I am in no way trying to compete with any other blogs or websites out there showcasing our sport. Rollerblading is my life and I always wanted a little website to call my own so I decided on starting up this blog to add something a bit different and hopefully entertaining for all the rollerbladers out there.

I run contests about every month with great prizes from generous friends that I have made in the industry. I also provide exclusive interviews, product reviews, exclusive LB-CAM pics of newly released products, and many other things in the works. I do my best to keep ShutupandSKATE updated with original content not seen on any other site. And I do it because my passion for rollerblading drives me.

WHAT IS THE FUTURE OF ROLLERBLADING, AND HOW’S IT GOING TO HAPPEN?
LB:
Rollerblading definitely has a future and we are that future. I believe the future of rollerblading is built under the “Each One, Teach One” banner. I’ve personally taught countless people how to rollerblade and to see them grow up and return the favor by teaching someone else to rollerblade keeps rollerblading growing in a continuing cycle. All of us, not just any one person, is the future of rollerblading.

ANSWER THIS: ROLLERBLADING WILL HAVE ARRIVED WHEN _______.
LB:
Pros can make a proper cost of living for sacrificing their bodies for progression.

HOW’S FAMILY LIFE TREATING YOU? HOW DO YOU JUGGLE IT ALL?
LB:
Family life consumes a lot of my time since my priorities shifted the day my son took his first breath in our world. I’m “Daddy Day Care” with him but I love every minute of it! He’s 2 years old and we watch The Truth 2, On Top & Icons together before he goes to bed. He seems to get a kick out of seeing skaters fall, though. With my Wifey working crazy retail hours I only get about 2 days a week to skate so I definitely roll every opportunity that I get. And I even bring my son to the skatepark and Skateshop with me as well. His homeboy is Rachard. He gives him the skater handshake and fistbump everytime he sees him.

WHAT DO YOU HAVE LINED UP FOR 2010? TRAVELING OUT TO JUDGE ANY COMPS? WORKING WITH CERTAIN COMPANIES?
LB:
For 2010 I made a promise to skate more, push myself more and definitely get my body in better shape. I’ve been slacking a bit but I’m feeling reenergized and more driven than ever. Of course I’m also going to take ShutupandSKATE to a higher level as well. As far as judging comps goes, I will be flying out to attend some comps this year and if I get asked to judge I’ll definitely help out in anyway that I can. On the subject of working with certain companies, I’m putting in work for Spoil’d Bratt Skateshop, iDentity Clothing, B.Unique&Co., Valo, Vibralux, helping out my good friends over at Urban Rolling Skateshop and possibly USD pretty soon since Mr. Korte is the man and I love the direction things have been going with his return.

AWESOME. THANKS SO MUCH BRIAN!
LB: Thank you for the opportunity! Take care!

2 Responses to “Be-Mag’s “Catching Up With Lord Brian””

  1. Sick! I knew you did alot for rolling but when i see all of the resume its alot of work and im sure its much appreciated.

  2. so im guessing b unique is comming back sometime in 2010

Leave a Reply

