The 5W’s w/ Jordan Baez

20111011-235644.jpg

Jordan Baez is a talented young blader who is quickly establishing a name for himself. He is part of the foundation for a solid future in the NYC blading scene. Not only does he kill everything he blades, Jordan also puts together competitions to help grow the NY/NJ scene. In this 5W’s profile he gives us a sneak peek of what he’s about.

20111011-235723.jpg
Photo by Sam DeAngelis

I look at you as one of the young up & coming talents that is the future of the NYC blading scene. WHO were some of your earliest influences when you first decided to strap on the blades?
JB: My earliest influences were my boy Suki Davilla and Matt. One of my main influences was and still is dave lang! As for Pros, it was Murda, Julian Bah & Billy O’ Neill.

You make me wish that I could grow my hair back so I can have hair like yours. WHAT kind of shampoo and conditioner do you use to keep your fro so light and fluffy?
JB: Haha, to keep my fro so fluffy I wash my hair with Dove shampoo.

20111011-235747.jpg
Photo by Craig Benabu

Putting together a rollerblading contest is a lot of work, WHEN did you decide that you wanted to wet your feet in the blading industry by running your own competition series?
JB: It wasn’t me by myself. My cousin Jason Rivera and I wanted to help out the NY/NJ scene by doing little comps to get new kids into blading and into other areas besides the same ones kids blade nowadays. The last turn out was pretty good, I got interviewed by a New Jersey mag and alot of people came and showed love!

There comes a time of the day when we all unbuckle our skates to relax so WHERE would we find you if you weren’t out there blading?
JB: Honestly, if I weren’t blading I would be caught up in the streets and I doubt alive the way I was going. That’s why I thank God for rollerblading each day and for my friends that do it.

20111011-235808.jpg
Photo by Ryan Loewy

You always seem to bring a positive vibe and a great mood to every session, WHY do you always have that trademark huge smile on your face all the time?
JB: Because I am a happy person with no hatred in my heart!

HOW did you acquire the almighty RB as a boot sponsor?
JB: Rollerblade isn’t my sponsor yet, Tom Hyser has just been one of the illest guys and helping me out. I thank him all the time for the free stuff.

20111011-235831.jpg

2010 Quick Clips with Jordan Baez
http://vimeo.com/27426192

2 Responses to “The 5W’s w/ Jordan Baez”

  1. Jash lower east side Says:

    Jordan beaz I say a great skater he put work

  2. […] “Jordan Baez is a talented young blader who is quickly establishing a name for himself. He is part of the foundation for a solid future in the NYC blading scene. Not only does he kill everything he blades, Jordan also puts together competitions to help grow the NY/NJ scene. In this 5W’s profile he gives us a sneak peek of what he’s about” – SUAS. Read the entire interview on shutupandskate. […]

Leave a Reply

