Malik Ashby Interview: On His Way

20111127-162123.jpg
Photo by SLDean.com
Malik Ashby is a progressive blader. I say that because every time you skate with him he laces something new each time. He starts off each session shaking hands and smiling but shortly after once the iPod play button is pressed he quietly goes through the motions of his expanding and stylish trick vocabulary. Malik spreads the word about USD everywhere he goes as well which is necessary while representing one of the biggest companies in rollerblading. Even though it seems he is constantly being criticized he keeps a level head and keeps on blading as part of the future of the growing NYC scene.

20111127-162455.jpg
Photo by Ryan Loewy and Mikey Roman
SUAS: Let’s start this off with a fury! How long have you been rolling, where do you reside and how is your day going so far as you are typing this?
MA:
I’ve been rollerboot’n since ’05 and my day is swell because I’m eating leftovers from turkey day haha.

SUAS: You forgot to say where you reside but I know that you rep the almighty BX so it’s all good. You just dropped a fresh new edit right in time for the holiday season and you have clips in pretty much every edit coming out of NYC. What are you building towards with all the work that you are putting in with the blades?
MA:
I started roll’n for fun and I’m still just doing this to have fun basically.

SUAS: And “FUN” is the key word! With all of your current exposure I’m sure that your sponsors are more than satisfied with you as a team rider. So, what companies do you currently represent?
MA:
I’m reppin’ USD, Flatlines Skateshop, and getting some M1 support through Flatlines as well.

20111127-163130.jpg
Photo by Lonnie Gallegos
SUAS: Quality coverage right there and how do you feel about the current resurgence of the NYC blading scene?
MA:
I just love that there is mad f#^&ing new bladers because every park you roll in NYC there’s always someone to teach or learn from.

SUAS: I agree, every session there seems to be bladers that I have never seen before. If you had the opportunity to create a new blading company what would you put together and how would it be different from anything that is out now?
MA:
I wouldn’t want to make anything new, just simply resurrect B.Unique clothing as a whole.

SUAS: |B| Unique is definitely missed. When you were first infected with the blading virus who were some of your earliest influences and who are some of your current ones?
MA:
Muh-fucking Mel Boogie Knight, FISH, Sam, Willy, CK & SK, SWAGONA, RJFRSH and my boy Jeremy Lopez….Currently, still the same dudes + my boys OZBE & RZL, Ryan Many, Loso Montenegro, Mikey Roman, Jeff Mateo, Evan Darkness Grimball, E$, Christian Delfino, Jake Rod, EROD, RIBS, Pedro, Jordan Baez, Jeremiah D., VAL and Jash Ruiz…sorry for the list but love rolln with my homies……hahaha!

20111127-163753.jpg
Photo by Ryan Loewy
SUAS: I am curious about your background, you say that you know Spanglish & Canadian French. What exactly is in your bloodline?
MA:
My Mom’s mulatto. Dad’s Dominican. Born in Montreal raised in the Bronx. Mom’s speaks French and the rest of my fam speaks Spanish.

SUAS: For those of you that do not know, Mulatto is a term for a person of mixed black and white ancestry. Where do you see rollerblading 10 years from now?
MA:
With all the advance technology Powerslide is creating, I see rollerbooting becoming more of an everyday lifestyle for people who don’t even roll now.

SUAS: Technology increased participation by tenfold! I remember you posting up some info about a Unique Lo grand opening party or something like that, are you into fashion as well or just a fan of whatever looks good?
MA:
I’m a big fan of fashion. Some of my friends study or graduated from FIT and Parsons so I’ve learned ALOT about fashion design and the basics in the past four years. ( no homo) haha.

20111127-164030.jpg
Photo by Cesar Macay
SUAS: Don’t worry, there are straight males in fashion haha. When you are not blading and if someone was spying on you what would you most likely be caught doing?
MA:
When I’m not blading I work in a private school for pre- k and kindergarten students as a teachers assistant and a substitute.

SUAS: Well, my son is a hyper-athletic child so I’m going to register him for your classroom 🙂 What would you like to see more of in rollerblading and what would you like to see less of?
MA:
This is an excellent question. Lol I would like to see more LOVE for every roller & from every roller and less HATE.

SUAS: And that is an excellent answer, do you have plans to travel next year and take part in some of the big contests that are coming up right around the corner or are contests not too big on your radar?
MA:
Yes, I’m going to enter BCSD and I have to go back to LA a.s.a.p. I’m just waiting on my bro Ryan Many.

20111127-164613.jpg
Photo by Victor Vizcaino
SUAS: I’ve also been thinking about heading back to L.A., the weather is blader friendly 24/7 365! When you work to put out an edit and fellow bladers begin to tear it down and question your ability what goes through your mind and what would you like to say to them?
MA:
Oh, you mean haterassfools. I have a career and skating is my hobby not my life so shit doesn’t bother me.

SUAS: And with that being said any last words or shout-outs?
MA:
Big ups to GK, Bladergang, Vine St, NYC, LA, SF, SD, NJ, PA, FL and all my true friends.

20111127-170435.jpg
Photo by Shardy Nieves

Malik Ashby Summer 2011 Edit

Malik Ashby USD Flow Spring/Summer Edit Part 1

4 Responses to “Malik Ashby Interview: On His Way”

  1. […] “Malik Ashby is a progressive blader. I say that because every time you skate with him he laces something new each time. He starts off each session shaking hands and smiling but shortly after once the iPod play button is pressed he quietly goes through the motions of his expanding and stylish trick vocabulary. Malik spreads the word about USD everywhere he goes as well which is necessary while representing one of the biggest companies in rollerblading. Even though it seems he is constantly being criticized he keeps a level head and keeps on blading as part of the future of the growing NYC scene” – SUAS. Read the full interview on ShutUpAndSkate. […]

  2. jeff Mateo Says:

    hell fucking yeah !

  3. nigga lyin about his background haha

Leave a Reply

