Checking In w/ Ranier Piramide

20131023-211226.jpg
ShutupandSKATE wanted to take a brief moment to check in with Ranier Piramide, an amazing blader and Cali legend who is recuperating from a recent knee surgery. While we all enjoyed his countless clips and sections over the years it would take a toll on his body resulting in a much needed surgery that he couldn’t put off any longer. Let’s see what’s going on with the Blading Alumni these days.

20131023-212318.jpg
SUAS: What’s up Ranier! I know that you are fresh out of surgery so how are you feeling at the moment?
RP:
What’s up SUAS! I’m feeling good, recovering well! I’m not 100% but, I’m hoping on getting back on my blades by early next year!

SUAS: You’ll be back at 100% in no time and I know Bladers around the globe will definitely be glad to see you back on skates again! So, what kind of surgery did you just have?
RP:
I had a ACL replacement and almost half of my meniscus repaired on my left knee. And apparently the doctor found a lot of arthritis around my knee and had to cut all that out.

SUAS: The good part is at least the Doctor did his job carefully and took care of everything all at once. Since the surgery is over what kind of physical therapy are you doing for the healing process?
RP:
Right now, I’m just doing a lot of strengthening work-outs to get my knee back to where it was. Along with a lot of core work outs and box jumps. Sometimes its hard to work out everyday, though. I still work two 12hr jobs, 5 days a week. But, the game don’t sleep! haha. Trying to get back on my blades ASAP!

20131023-213138.jpg
SUAS: Your schedule is crazy. Just don’t burn yourself out before you even get started. And to pry into your personal life just a bit what do you do for a living?
RP:
Pry away! No shame in my game! haha. I’m a Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN). I work at Nursing homes that specialize in Sub Acute patients. These are patients that are pretty much breathing and being fed thru machines.

SUAS: That sounds like a tough job. You definitely need to be strong for your patients. But, while you are on the sidelines getting ready for a comeback have you been keeping up with what’s been going on in blading besides the BDC Roast Sessions?…Haha! And has any recent edits and/or sections been getting you juiced to blade again?
RP:
While I’m stuck on the sidelines, thats pretty much all I do on my free time after work. I stay up to date with skating thru Facebook (edits kids post), BDC ROAST Sessions (of course… haha) and Rollernews. Recent edits that got me juiced is all the work my friends have been dropping… i.e.. Jeremy and Steven’s section, Mike O.’s section, Danny’s section, Demetrious and that new Franky edit that dropped not too long ago

SUAS: Your boys have been killing it with the edits lately. I’ve been watching the same edits too. But, your clips, edits and sections over the years solidified your name in the sport as a force to be reckoned with. What are some of your personal goals when you start blading again?
RP:
My first goal is to just be able to get back on my blades and blade with the homies again. Then, once I get my confidence back and feel comfortable I want to throw a couple hammers I’ve been wanting to do.

20131023-213406.jpg
SUAS: Well Ranier, I look forward to seeing you kill it when you start blading again. Any last words or shout outs?
RP:
Thank you and looking forward to getting in a session with you when I do get back! Shout out to BladerGang, USD, the ratchets and all the homies! Can’t wait to get back in the game!

20131023-213521.jpg

FOR THE LOVE Documentary

TAKE YOUR TIME Section

2 Responses to “Checking In w/ Ranier Piramide”

  1. Mike Hazard Says:

    Straight legend, can’t wait to see some new shit!

  2. […] Check the Ranier Piramide Interview on Shutupandsk8.wordpress.com. […]

Leave a Reply

